My path to achieve the greatest Linux desktop ever :)

Lost everything ;__;

My boyfriend’s desktop with Arch and Gnome 3 (it’s actually pretty but I hate Gnome 3 so..)

Bad news… well, maybe not for you, but for me definetely. My hard disk died… and I lost everything I’d done to my OS.. sure, I kept a small backup of college stuff.. But my Gimp stuff, it all disappeared ;___;

I’d started making a wallpaper for Ubuntu’s October release – for the contest – and it was so pretty… But I lost it x.x

I still can’t understand what happened, it’s not like I overclocked my Netbook or anything… And while I used it daily, it wasn’t intensive use really… So I can’t put my finger on what the hell happened… It’s still in warranty so I’ll make use of that, but my data… gone… forever… I seriously need to have backups of more stuff and keep it more updated…

However, despite all the drama in my heart, it can actually be considered a good thing – I was thinking of formatting my whole hard drive so I’d have a fresh clean installation and so that I’d dedicate my time to customizing Openbox once again – god I really miss it for some reason…

KDE is out of the question for me because, there’s no way I’m gonna update my RAM anytime soon, and without that, KDE is one slow DE.. XFCE was good too but I really fell in love with Openbox for some reason… I just need to get it all configured again x)

Btw, I was thinking if Arch was really the best choice for me – it’s customizable and updated however I’ve been thinking that there might be better distro choices for me. I need a simple, clean distro, easy to use and understand and, more importantly, lightweight because of my Netbook (Asus Eeepc 1005HA)… what do you recommend?

4 responses

  1. Ricardo

    just don’t know how you didn’t have a backup of all contents…that’s one of the main things you should do (at least) once a week.

    July 11, 2011 at 17:08

    • Because I never thought something would happen to my hard drive all of a sudden… that and I’m always busy doing something – it just never occured to me that my hard drive would ever have problems.. at least in less than 2 years of use ;__;

      July 12, 2011 at 11:06

  2. Pingback: Asus EeePC back… with Windows XP « Nani Land

  3. That’s why I try to “backup” my work online.

    July 26, 2012 at 06:14

Leave a Reply

