My path to achieve the greatest Linux desktop ever :)

elementary OS Jupiter :)

elementary OS Jupiter

I swear I haven’t forgotten you guys I just didn’t really change anything during vacations…

But then, when I was about to start classes I thought “I only have Arch installed.. Dammit I need another OS here that’s already configured in case I need something and it goes wrong on Arch (example: the printer recently…)… But I don’t want Windows… Uhmmm, maybe Mac?” (tried to install it, pen wasn’t working properly) “Damn x.x maybe Ubuntu? Oh god no, the slowlyness D: then.. Linux Mint?” (tried it, was so damn slow on my netbook) “… I’m out of ideas…”

And so I went searching for a lightweight alternative to Ubuntu and found it – elementary OS.

And it’s simple and beautiful and light (not as much as my Arch/ Openbox combo but still…) and I’m really pleased with it so far :)

It’s got a normal panel on top and then a dock at the bottom (which I changed to the left so it won’t eat up as much space) – as for the rest, it’s got lightweight alternatives to normal Ubuntu default programs (like Midori instead of Firefox), other than that it’s pretty much the same :)

4 responses

  1. Elementary is a pretty good light weight alternative to Ubuntu. I started using recently. My Java programs work even more faster on Jupiter. But I have never tried Arch or Mint. Are they good enough on daily based usage?

    October 18, 2011 at 18:28

    • Mint is a little different than elementary but its original purpose was the same – an Ubuntu based distro only lighter than the original. However, as I’ve been noticing, Mint doesn’t feel that light anymore, at least compared to elementary. Other than that, Mint is also pretty good just not as light as elementary that’s all…

      As for Arch, it’s completely different than Ubuntu – it’s a rolling distro so you’re always updated but you need to know a thing or two about Linux because mainly you maintain your system through the terminal – you install programs from there (but it’s really easy) and update your system through there as well. At first that thought really scared me but I came to find it’s pretty easy once you’re used to it. The only problem I’ve ever had with Arch is the printer. It’s got some type of problem with HP printers because of Cups, which I haven’t been able to solve yet but there are some solutions out there, I just need to stop being lazy and make the time to try them. Fortunately, Arch has got the best wiki ever, with a beginner’s guide included so you might want to start looking there.

      I’d recommend Arch because you’re the one who takes care of everything in your system, giving you control to do whatever the hell you want ;)

      P.S. please don’t tl;dr *-*

      October 18, 2011 at 19:46

  2. Don’t worry :P I definitely read the whole thing. Rolling updates are cool. May be I should give Arch a try! :)

    October 19, 2011 at 01:32

  3. I have a slow machine myself and I use Debian with LXDE and the Mint-X theme.

    July 26, 2012 at 06:03

Leave a Reply

